Microsoft Word - Call for Artists -Awards Design Submission 2014

OAA 2015

 “Awards Design Submission
The Okanagan Arts Awards (OAA) is seeking a design for the three-dimensional sculpture that will become the award to be presented to each award recipient.
The process is as follows:
*Submit your drawing(s) of the design by e-mail by September 19, 2014.
*Submissions will be short listed to 3 by October 3, 2014.
*The 3 short listed artists will be contacted and asked to submit a maquette of the design by November 3, 2014, which is to be delivered to the Arts Council Office by 2:00 pm.

The maquettes should be about 8” – 14” high, and should have a base that is a maximum of 4” in diameter so it will fit onto a specific base. The maquette can be made out of clay, wood, glass, wax, or other material.

The selection of the chosen design will be made by November 10, 2014.
The chosen maquette will announced at the Okanagan Arts Awards Launch. This winning design will then be used to produce the awards.
The artist of the chosen design will receive an honorarium of $1,000.00, and the artists of the other two designs will receive $250.00. .

Please include the following in your submission:
*Drawing(s) of your design
*An artist statement that explains your design
*Your contact information
*Any support materials you might want to include.
*Information about how your design can be reproduced, giving details of processes and costs.

The complete submission package is due September 19, 2014. This can be mailed or emailed (our preferred method) to Arts Council of the Central Okanagan.

Inquiries, contact:
Arts Council of the Central Okanagan
Tel: 250.861.4123
Email: Website:
Mailing Address: 11590 Artela Drive, Lake Country, BC V4V 1H


The Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art in Kelowna B.C. has launched its “Brand Your Business” Raffle Fundraiser. The grand prize is a $7500 branding package, which includes a website and full graphics package created by Kelowna-based Ignite Design. Only 200 tickets will be sold.

“As a working artist and an entrepreneur starting my own business, I understand the value of brand,” said Ketrena Schultz, President of the Alternator Centre Board of Directors. “For most people, pulling the financing together to launch a business is hard enough without finding the money to pay for a great website and a compelling visual identity.”

“That’s why we are so excited about this raffle. Some lucky business owner is going to get an amazing opportunity for a very small investment. It’s going to make a huge difference for the winner.”

Building a great brand is the place where art and business intersect, and it’s a space where the Alternator Centre, a non-profit artist-run organization located in Kelowna since 1989, felt comfortable launching a fundraising initiative.

“We were looking for a fundraising idea that reflected the Alternator’s mission,” said Alternator Director, Lorna McParland. “This was the project that really captured our interest.

 “It connects at a fundamental level — most artists need business knowledge and entrepreneurial smarts to make a living. And business owners need a visual brand created by an artist/designer to fully achieve business success.”

Ignite Design is run by Mike Czuboka, and has an established and impressive clientele, including Tourism Penticton, The British Columbia Wine Institute, and Ironwood Residential Design.

Additional prizes of an iPad business package (value $1100, courtesy of Staples) and a $250 gift certificate to top Kelowna restaurant Waterfront Wines will also be awarded during the prize draw event onSeptember 30, 2014.

 Funds raised will advance the Alternator’s mission to support the work of emerging Canadian artists, and help develop the talents of local artists by providing a network of collaboration and sharing. Each year, hundreds of local artists are helped along the road to success through the services the Alternator provides. Thousands of local residents are given the opportunity to engage with contemporary exhibits brought in my artists from across Canada.

 Examples of Alternator initiatives include the UBC Okanagan AlterKnowledge series that runs monthly, the Members’ Gallery that regularly exhibits the works of Alternator members, and the main Gallery professional exhibition space, which is dedicated to the work of artists annually selected by a programming committee.

Deadline for ticket purchase is September 30, 2014. For more information, visit

venablesJoin rising star violinists from the Okanagan, Colleen and Alicia Venables, in concert with pianist Arnold Draper in an exciting recital program featuring music of Brahms, Faure, Debussy & Piazzola
Christ Lutheran Church, 2091 Gordon Drive, Kelowna
Thursday, August 7th at 7:30 pm
Admission by Donation
Your generosity will help send the girls off this fall to prestigious music schools in California. Contact to RSVP or for more information on how to donate.